New Year’s Resolutions and Goals

January 17, 2014 at 11:18 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Like most people, the New Year makes me think about things like resolutions, goals, and organizing. I have been really thinking about what I want to focus on this year and what is most important to me. The most important thing to me above all else is my family. I want to have more quality time with my family, I want to be less stressed and I want to enjoy everyday. The hard part is figuring out how to make that happen. Last year I read the happiness project by Gretchen Rubin. If you haven’t read it I highly recommend it. It really made me think but then life got in the way, or maybe I got in my own way. I started worrying more about a clean house, to do lists and doing it all. This year I want it to be different. I wrote down three things that I can focus on this year. I found a couple a cute printable goal/resolution sheet on pinterest check out the sheet here  if you are interested. I also found a great printable to review the year. After sitting down with pen and paper I came up five things to focus on.

1. Take more time for myself. Do things that I like to do and things that make me happy and relaxed. Including: writing, cooking and reading. (I started reading American Wife, by Curtis Sittenfeld..I’m really enjoying it).

2. Play More. I am not the greatest at playing. I can do crafts with my kids or facilitate play but getting down on the floor and playing with dolls or cars is hard for me for some reason. I want to try to make time for this more often. After all how many more years do I have that they will want to play with me.

3. More Date Nights. I want to try to have a date night with the hubby every month. Even if it is just doing something together after the kids go to bed. Just finding a few minutes to connect without interruptions.

4. Continue to get involved in church. We joined a new church when we moved and I have really enjoyed having a church family. Jason and I both grew up going to church being involved in church but it’s something we haven’t done a great job.

5. Schedule less stuff. Jason is traveling a lot for work now which has made our family time even more important. Over Christmas we had tons of things planned and it became too  much. We need more time at home just chilling. The kids are happiest on the weekends if we never leave the house and they get to wear pajamas all day.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I completely agree with your 5 goals – can I make them mine as well? You are an incredible mother already – just keep reminding yourself of that!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

