Gaining Weight

September 25, 2009 at 7:37 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Yesterday was a good day for Jack and Leah. Jack gained 2 ounces and now weighs 4 lb 11 oz and Leah gained a little over an ounce and now weighs 4 lb 8 oz. They have to weigh at least 2100 grams to be able to go home, which is about 4 lb 10 oz. Hopefully in the next couple of days Leah will get there.

The feedings went ok yesterday. Not good not bad. They are becoming a little more alert every day. I think Jack will be our feisty one. When he gets mad he gets really mad. Leah on the other hand will make terrible faces and you think she is going to get really mad and then she just goes to sleep instead. They both passed their hearing tests yesterday. The nurse said it can take up to five minutes to pass but Jack and Leah both passed in about 30 seconds. I wasn’t worried about this at all because they look around when they hear voices and try to find you.

I feel like Jason and I are becoming obsessive compulsive about hand washing. When we go out in public we carry hand sanitizer with us and use it every time we touch a door or something like that. A bunch of people at the office have been sick, and I have been worried Jason is going to get something. Yesterday, Jason’s boss gave him the ok to work at home until he takes his time off. I am very thankful that he is able to do this. One less thing for me to worry about.  Jack and Leah are soo tiny I just know that they can’t handle being sick and this is such a bad time. The hospital has hand sanitizer everywhere. We use it when we walk in the door…then walk to the NICU wash our hands and use more hand sanitizer. If we use our camera or phones then we have to use more sanitizer and we are suppose to use it when we go from one baby to the other. It’s crazy to think about how many times a day I do that.

I will post more pictures later today. Jason is using the computer that has my camera software so I have to wait until he has lunch. I’m headed up to see the babies… I can’t wait to see them again.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I just love reading your posts:) Stock up on the anti-bacterial soap and sanitizer! When we brought our kids home from the hospital, I wouldn’t let anyone come over except grandparents, not even my sisters! I was so worried about the kids getting sick, especially with RSV. My little sister didn’t even get to meet the twins until they were 2 months old. I felt guilty, but my guilt went away when I thought of them having to go back in the hospital. And, actually, the nurses in the NICU told us not to let any children around them for quite a while. I finally started getting them out when they were around 3 months old, and that was very limited. Their personalities are so similar to our kids! You’ll be amazed at how different Leah is from Jack.

    Laura Nelson

  2. They have little bottles of Purel with a rubber loop that you can use to attach the bottle to your diaper bag or car seat, etc. I got mine at Big Lots–I LOVE it. That way, it’s always there when you need it, and you don’t have to dig for the darned thing. You can swap out the little Purell bottle when it runs out, too.

    And I’m with Laura as far as letting people see your babies–Edwin didn’t go much of anywhere for 8 weeks after he came home, just so we could be sure his little immune system was working and he wouldn’t catch anyone’s cooties. People will understand if you do the same.

    Your blog rocks btw–thank you for letting us all keep up with you and the babies! They are so precious!!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

