Bittersweet

October 1, 2009 at 3:54 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

We spent the night at the hospital last night with Jack. The night was good… Jack did great. I had a hard time sleeping. I spent most of the night watching Jack breathe. It was the first time he didn’t have his monitors on for more than a few minutes and it was making me nervous. I had to keep reminding myself the doctor wouldn’t let him go home if he wasn’t ready.

Leah had an awesome night last night. She has now taken all of her feedings by bottle for almost 24 hours. I hope that this means that she is starting to get it. They both gained weight again. Leah now weighs 4 lb 14 oz and Jack weighs 5 lb. Jason and I also got to help with baths last night. Jack hates getting a bath and screamed the whole time..Leah didn’t love it but wasn’t as mad as Jack.

Leaving today was bittersweet. On the one hand I am thrilled to finally get Jack home and start taking care of him full-time. On the other hand I never thought we would be leaving without Leah.  Hopefully they won’t be separated for too long.

Here are some new pictures.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. OMG! How exciting! You won’t sleep a wink tonight, but trust me, you’ll survive on pure excitment!! I can’t believe how alert they both are, and the rate at which they are gaining weight is magnificent. In the next month, I bet their both close to 7 or 8 pounds! Those preemie clothes will be boxed up before you know it. I remember my trial run night at the hospital with Ireland. Like you, I didn’t sleep a wink. I had to reason with myself the first month, realizing that they are just fine. The first couple nights, they were both home, I slept (if you can call it that), right next to their pack n play. I think I slept a total of 2 hours in 2 days. One good thing is that newborns sleep alot! Take advantage of it now! It doesn’t last very long:)

    Laura Nelson

  2. How excited and how sad at the very same time! I can’t imagine the ache you must feel leaving sweet Leah there! Hope you had a good first night with Jack and Sis joins him VERY soon! It takes a while to be able to actually allow yourself to trust God and truly fall asleep, but it will happen. And until then that New Mommy adrenaline will be enough:) So excited for the blog and the chance to get to watch these angels grow up!

  3. CONGRATULATIONS GUYS!!!!! I am so excited for you!! Hopefully, Leah will be home, too, before you know it.

    On a side note–Edwin wore that exact same hat home from the hospital! That sure brings back memories. 🙂 You’ll be amazed in a few short months how much Jack has grown, and look at that hat and wonder how on earth he ever fit into it.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

