Number Two

October 7, 2009 at 3:52 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

When Gina got pregnant I read all kinds of books about babies and pregnancy. One of my favorite books was Baby 411, but I was surprised when I started looking through this book and found an entire chapter devoted to Poop. I didn’t read the chapter… I thought I knew everything there was to know. They eat, they poop and you change their diapers. After the twins got here I soon learned that poop would become a common topic of conversation. It was something I worried about… how much is too much? Is this color normal? Is this texture normal? What do we do if we don’t see it for a while. Needless to say I have since read the entire chapter on poop.

Last night, I was making the babies bottles in the middle of the night when I heard a noise that sounded like it came from a grown man. Surely, my sweet little babies would not make a noise that nasty…but they were the only other ones in the room. I walked over and checked on them and they were both quietly sleeping. So, I did what any mom would do. I picked them up and smelled their butts. Nothing. So I moved on to my next tactic.. I tried to peek in the diaper. Jack was all clear, but somehow when I did this too Leah I ended up with finger covered in poop. Normally I would have gone running to the bathroom, but this time I wiped it off changed Leah’s diaper and then washed my hands.  I know that motherhood changes you, but I didn’t expect this. In the movie Baby Momma there is a scene where a little kid has brown all over his hands. His mom says Poop or Chocolate and then proceeds to lick the child’s hands. I figure as long as I am only smelling it we are okay.

In other news, our doctors appointment went well. Jack now weighs 5 lb 9 oz and Leah weighs 5 lb 2 oz. They got a good report; however, we have to put them in their own beds now. It makes me a little sad to separate them, but there are increased risks of SIDS in twins who sleep together. The doctor also encouraged us to quit sleeping in their room. We took her advice and the babies slept in their separate cribs last night and we slept in our own room. It went better than expected..but it is still hard to have them so far away. Hopefully every night will get easier.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. LOL. This post brought back memories! We, too, were shocked at the sound effects Edwin was able to produce–who would think that a noise that loud could come from a baby that small? For what it’s worth, the sound effects did ebb off after a while–I want to say that by around 3-4 months, he didn’t have to announce to the room, so to speak, every time he had a bowel movement.

  2. I have been reading your posts and loving every minute of Jack and Leah!! Congrats again to both of you. I LOVE all the pics. I have been meaning to comment on your blog but this latest post “moved” me to do so. I am dying laughing!! In fact, Peter just asked me “what so funny mom?” Yes, it is true that once you are a mother you find yourself saying and doing things you never thought you would do. I am so happy for you guys and thank goodness for the chapter on poop right? Even a second timer had to re-ck that chapter. I remember being worried taking Peter out to the store that someone would think his gas was really my gas. Your posts are great! Major congrats for already having them in a seperate room!
    Lisa

  3. WOW! I’m impressed your already sleeping in separate rooms. It took me 4 months to move the babies out to their own room, and then, I would sleep in the room attached to their room. They are looking so great and very healthy. I can relate to “poop”. I can remember having my sister look at the twins diapers to make sure they were OK. Just to be sure, I googled it several times. I thought for sure something was wrong with them. Just wait, the poop saga continues as they get a little older. And then when their on solids, watch out!! It’s hard to imagine that something that big could come out of such a little thing.

    Laura Nelson


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

