Groundhog Day

October 18, 2009 at 5:50 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

In the movie Groundhog Day with Bill Murray the main character Phil finds himself living the same day over and over again. Living with newborn twins is a lot like that movie. Everyday is the same …yet totally different. Everyday you feed the two babies eight times a day, you change two babies eight times a day and you find yourself washing the same clothes and cleaning the same bottles over and over again. I even find myself wearing the same clothes because I’m constantly doing laundry and the same things are always on the top of the drawer. Suddenly my life is measured in three hour periods rather than 24 hour periods. I can only do things that take two hours or less because that is all the time that is left after both babies are changed and fed.

Being a parent is very different from any thing than I could have ever imagined. It is better than anything I could have imagained. It is amazing, wonderful and exhausting and challenging. Somehow looking at their sweet little faces can make you forget the exhaustion and all of the frustration. I’m not sure that I could explain what it is like to someone who isn’t a parent.

After two weeks with us my mom left on Thursday evening. Going from three adults to two adults makes a huge difference. Before we had one adult for each baby and one adult for the chores around the house. Now we are a man on man approach and if the other stuff gets done it is an added bonus. I can’t imagine how single moms or dads raise kids. If I didn’t have Jason and our families to help us I’m not sure what I would do. I feel very lucky that we live so close to our families.. and that they are willing to come help us.

In the movie Phil realizes that living the same day over and over again isn’t so bad. Jason and I have learned the same thing… living with Jack and Leah is pretty amazing and we are very lucky to be their parents.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Great post! And SOOO true. Even now with a 2.5 year old! You do have much more freedom when they go down to one big nap in the middle of the day- you’re not trapped in 2 hour windows all the time! Your babies keep getting cuter and cuter!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

