A Roller Coaster Ride

November 24, 2009 at 12:07 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Being a new mom is a lot like riding a roller coaster. There are constantly ups and downs and the amazing thing is that you can have one day filled with both. Yesterday for example we had a great morning. The kids went right back to sleep after their 6:30 feeding and we all got to sleep in until around nine. Then when the kids woke up they were happy and I sat up in their room with them and they smiled and made little cooing noises. It was great. It was how I always imagined motherhood.

Who knew that the 12:30 feeding would bring total chaos. They were both screaming at the same time. I decided to feed Leah first and Jack was crying so hard his face was turning a very interesting shade of red. I tried moving his bouncy seat with my foot keeping the pacifier in with my other hand.. everything I could think of and nothing made him happy. Then when it was his turn to eat Leah screamed and Jack projective vomited all over me and the couch, which meant that he needed new clothes and the couch needed a scrub and while all of this was happening the doctor’s office that I had been trying to get a hold of since the morning finally called back. After that things went back up. We had Grandma and Grandpa Tucker and Aunt Melanie and Uncle Jody over for dinner. The kids were great they smiled and were really happy all evening.

They say that it is hormones that make new moms act a little crazy and weepy.. but I’m not sure that is it. Since, I didn’t give birth I don’t have all of that going on and I will tell you that I have still sat on the couch and cried because I wasn’t sure I could handle another night and then a few hours later cried because I was so happy and I couldn’t believe Jack and Leah were here and they are mine.

 

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I must tell you about the GREATEST feeding method ever!! I finally figured it out around 2 months. Put them both on their boppy, somewhat sideways. I use to side feed the kids quite a bit, which actually worked better with the boppy, and helped Jace with his reflux because they had to eat slower. Prop the bottles up with burp cloths, clothes, or whatever works. Then, you sit in the middle and just watch:) You can pull each of them every couple ounces and burp as needed. Their feedings get done so much quicker by feeding them both at the same time, and it’s a lot less stressful. It worked wonderfully for us.

  2. I hope all of you have a happy Thanksgiving. Thanks for the blog. I love seeing you and the baby’s.

    Love to all
    Stephanie


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

