I am a Housewife.

February 4, 2010 at 9:20 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

A few weeks ago I had a doctor’s appointment at an office I hadn’t been to for a while. Because I hadn’t been for a while they made me go through the registration process again. A receptionist took me back and asked all the normal questions. Name, address, martial status. Then she asked me if I was employed, to which I responded, “No.” Later she saw a pictures of the kids and she said, “Oh, you are a homemaker.” It was wierd hearing someone else say that. I had never thought to tell her I was a home maker when she asked if I was employed. When she said homemaker I pictured a 1950’s housewife like Donna Ried or June Cleaver. Maybe I should come up with a new name for it. Domestic Engineer, V.P. of Tucker Household, CEO of Tucker Household… or Domestic Goddess. I like the last one.

Whatever the name I absolutely love my new job. I know that staying at home with kids is not something everyone wants to do..but I love it. I can’t wait to wake up in the morning and see what fun new things my little ones are going to do. I love that I get to feed them, play with them and see their cute little smiles all day. Don’t get me wrong there are times when I want to pull my hair out. There are times when both kids are screaming and the dog is barking and I want to run away for a few minutes, but  the good times definitely out number the bad. For the first time in a long time I feel like I am actually good at what I am doing.  The house isn’t always perfect and I’m not wearing high heels and pearls and making dinner, but the kids are happy, fed and the house isn’t too messy. I feel lucky to have this opportunity and I am enjoying every minute of it.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

