Christmas Traditions

December 9, 2010 at 4:58 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I have spent a lot of time the past few weeks thinking about Christmas traditions. I’ve been thinking about what traditions I grew up with that I want my kids to experience, what traditions we will continue from Jason’s childhood and what new traditions we will start. I have read about and thought about so many ideas. It would be great to do them all but also almost impossible.

One tradition we started last year that I know we will continue is Christmas pajamas. Growing up my siblings and I always got to open one present on Christmas Eve. It was always pajamas. When we were younger they were usually matching. Now that we are older the pajamas don’t normally match but we still get them. It wouldn’t be Christmas without them.

Here is a pic of last years jammies.

We also used to get a Christmas book every Christmas Eve. We would sit and read it before we went to bed. I think we are going to do the Christmas book tradition slightly differently. On 320 Sycamore I read about another families tradition of counting down to Christmas with books. Jack and Leah are too little this year but I am going to start this tradition next year. I think we might start with 10 days because I don’t have enough books for more than that. I did start our christmas book collection this year. My sister and I went to half price book store and stocked up on a few Christmas Favorites including The Polar Express. The book I specifically picked out this year is called Bear Stays Up.

I would also like to start some kind of Advent calendar next year but haven’t excited exactly how I want to do that. I want to do something that is fun and can help our family remember what christmas is about.  Growing up we had years where my family would have advent dinners on sunday and light the advent candle. We would sometimes get a small present during dinner. Some years we baked a birthday cake for Jesus on Christmas eve.. I think that was something my sister wanted to do when she was little. There are so many fun ideas.

If anyone has any really great ideas for advent please share them… or any other fun Christmas traditions.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

