Good News…I think

January 6, 2011 at 2:54 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

This blog is supposed to be about Jack and Leah but today I’m going to make it a little bit about me. I have an auto-immune diseas called Takyasu’s Arteritis. It is because of this disease that I wasn’t able to carry Jack and Leah. My aorta is wider than it should be and the doctors were worried that the extra stress a baby would put on me would cause problems.

As part of my treatment I get a medicine called Remicade through an IV every eight weeks. I found out yesterday that my doctor thinks I may be in remission and I am going to stop getting the medicine and see what happens. If all goes according to plan everything will remain the same.  There is always a chance that I am not having any problems because the medicine is working and my sympoms will return…but we are going to keep our fingers crossed and pray that this isn’t the case. This is one of those things that makes me excited but at the same time nervous. It was ten years ago that my whole crazy journey with this disease started. Ten years ago I had no idea how it was all going to turn out. I remember being in the hospital and wondering if I would be able to go back to a “normal” life. I feel so blessed and hope that this disease is really gone for good.

I will still have to take medicine to control my blood pressure and thin my blood, but that is something I will have to do my whole life. My doctors will also continue to moniter my heart and make sure that everything stays the same. At some point I will probably need an aortic valve replacement in my future but I am praying that it won’t be for many many years.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That’s great news Natalie! I’ll be praying for you that it stays in remission. I think Jack is the instigatator here and Leah is along for the ride:)

  2. That is absolutely AMAZING news!! (I am doing a little dance at my desk!) What a crazy and scary journey it has been, but at least you learned what a tough cookie you really are!

  3. Congratulations–that is truly wonderful news.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

