Fix and Freeze

April 7, 2011 at 3:09 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Awhile I ago I posted that I got together with a group to do a fix and freeze. Six girls got together and we made 6 meals for each of us to take home. It was soo nice having things I could pull out of my freezer and make for those crazy days when I don’t really have time to cook. (To be totally honest that is almost everyday these days) Anyway, we are getting together for another round of fix and freeze this Saturday. I didn’t get all of the recipes from the group last time but I have them all this time. I will post updates as we try them and let you know how they are.

The kids went with me today running around town picking up my porition of the ingredients. I look like a crazy lady buying ingredients of this quantity. We went to Walmart first,  my purchase included 16 onions, 8 lbs of cheese and 16 lbs of hamburger among other things. The check out lady kept looking at me like I was a lunatic. After walmart I stopped and did something I swore I would never do…we ate in the car. I do it all the time but I never feed the kids in the car. I let them get out of their carseats and they climbed around while I feed them chicken nuggets and tatertots at sonic. They thought it was the best thing in the whole world. After lunch we headed to Costco. Which is still one of the kids favorite places to be. They took turns showing me where there eyes and noses were. Leah waved at everyone and was blowing kisses at some old men. She always picks grouchy looking people and blows kisses at them….9 out of 10 times it ends up making them smile and surprises me. They are now taking at nap….yeah.

Here are two of the recipes we are trying this time. I will post pics when I actually make them and some more of the recipes later.

Shish Kebabs
 
3/4 pound beef steak (1 inch thick–sirloin, rump or top loin)
1/4 c olive oil
2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
1 tablespoon mustard (regular hot dog/hamburger kind)
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon celery seed
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1 bay leaf
(Other veggies to add to the skewers at time of cooking.)
 
Directions:
1. Trim fat from meat and cut into 1 inch cubes.
2. Place meat in glass or plastic container.
3. Combine the other ingredients and bring to a boil over high heat.
4. Pour this marinade over the steak cubes and mix well.
5. Cover and refrigerate 2+ hours or overnight  or freeze.
6. When ready to eat, discard bay leaf and mix other vegetables (mushrooms, cherry tomatoes, red/green pepper, onions, zucchini) in with meat for a minute to coat with marinade.
Thread meat/veggies onto skewers and grill/broil until desired doneness (2-3 minutes per side).
 
 
Playoff Burgers
Serving Size: 6 Burgers
 
2 pounds lean ground beef
1 onion, chopped
1 tablespoon A-1 sauce
1/4 pound grated monterey jack cheese
salt to taste
pepper to taste
gallon-sized freezer bag and waxed paper
 
Directions:
1. Salt and pepper ground beef to taste and mix with chopped onion and A-1 sauce.
2. Make 12 thin patties.
3. Sprinkle cheese over 6 patties then top with the remaining 6 and press edges together (cheese will be sealed in the middle).
4. Wrap each patty in waxed paper and place in freezer bag.
5. To eat: thaw patties/buns and grill or broil (12-14 minutes) until done.
Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

