Cooking

May 3, 2013 at 4:45 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I find cooking calming. It seems like cooking is one of those things that you either love or hate. I have always liked but I think my new kitchen makes it a little more fun. A few days ago Leah was being a pistol..she choose not to take a nap and then decided that she was going to do everything in her power to make sure Jack didn’t take one either. I gave in a let her watch a movie because little dude was sleeping soundly and he needed the rest. While she was watching Snow White for the eleventh time in the past couple of weeks I decided I might as well cook since I had to be in the kitchen anyway.

I started off with homemade bisquits..I tried these a few weeks after we moved in but I didn’t roll them out thick enough and they were kinda crispy. I am happy to say that today they turned out perfect this time. I used this recipe from, “The Joy of Cooking” but I used half and half instead of milk. I should probably be trying to make the recipe lighter instead of adding extra calories but I had the half and half and decided to go for it. Look at these babies…. Nice huh?

004

 

Then I had a little more time..everyone was being good so I decided to find a new recipe for the chicken we were having for dinner. I found a version of Chick-a-filet nuggets on pinterest and then made a sauce to go with them. I made a regular version of the sauce and then decided to make a spicy version for the hubby. I added Siracha Chili sauce a little Cayenne pepper to it.

010

Last I made macaroni and cheese. I normally use a recipe from my mom and Grandma that I will have to post another time but I decided to try a new version I adapted from a Southern Living version today. I have posted it below.

Macaroni and Cheese

1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup flour

1/2 tsp garlic Salt

1/2 tsp fresh cracked pepper

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

3/4 cup half and half

1/4 cup milk

15 oz shredded cheese ( I used mostly sharp cheddar but threw in some parmesan cheese as well.)

8 oz uncooked elbow noodles

Directions

1. Cook elbow noodles according to the package directions.

2. Melt the butter. Slowly whisk in flour stirring constantly for 2 min. Make sure you do it for the whole two minutes or it will taste like raw flour.

3. Stir in salt and peppers

4. Gradually add milk and stir constantly until thickened 8-10 min (I normally warm it up in the microwave first because it thickens faster)

5. Add 3/4 of the cheese. It looked so good at this point that I may have eaten some of it with a spoon. Then I let Leah eat some. She agreed with me, its delicious. She asked for a bowl of it, but I drew the line there. I think I may need to make some fondue for this girl.

007

6. stir in noodles.

7. Place in baking dish top with remaining cheese and bake for 20 min at 350.

The dinner went over very well. Jason really liked the spicy version of the sauce and Jack and Leah loved the nuggets.

009

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.